Rescheduled Town Hall Meeting:

Residents of 42B: 

Join Senator Jason Isaacson and Representative Jamie Becker-Finn


Shoreview City Hall

4600 Victoria St N, Shorview, MN 55126

Saturday, March 2, 2019

10:00 AM – 11:30 AM (doors at 9:30)

District 42B includes all of Gem Lake, Little Canada, Vadnais Heights, southern Shoreview, and Roseville (north of County Road C W and East of Snelling/HWY 51)

Disability Day at the Capitol

Hundreds of people took part in Arc Minnesota’s 2019 Disability Day at the Capitol this week. Participants attended a training seminar, met with legislators, and participated in a rally, which I had the pleasure of speaking at. They were at the Capitol to raise awareness surrounding critical issues affecting Minnesotans with disabilities, their family members, support staff, and allies. Their goals for this legislative session are to advocate for a solution to the workforce crisis, prevent sexual violence, improve access to self-directed supports, and increase investment and self-advocacy.


You can watch my speech from the rally below: 

Play Button

Regent candidates advance for full consideration by House and Senate

Five candidates were approved by the joint House and Senate Higher Education committee this week for consideration by the House and Senate. Voting for the regent candidates will happen in a joint session of the full House and Senate memberships.

The Regent Candidate Advisory Council advanced four candidates for each open seat last month. Candidates who were advanced include:

  • Student At-Large: James Farnsworth, Mike Kenyanya, Sara Kettering, and Joshua Preston
  • Fifth Congressional District: Peggy Lucas, Janie Mayeron, Allison Barmann, and Kelly Doran. Doran withdrew last month
  • At-Large: Lynn Abrahamson, Robert Eddy, Susan Adams Loyd, Kao Ly Her, Bill Luther, Mary Davenport, Kim Isenberg, Sandy Weise, and Dena Johnson. Johnson withdrew last week.

The joint committee heard opening statements and asked questions of the RCAC-recommended candidates. Mike Kenyanya was recommended for the student at-large position. Abdul Omari was nominated for the Fifth Congressional District position, but after three ballots, Janie Mayeron of Minneapolis was recommended for the position. 

Omari was also nominated for an at-large seat, though Mary Davenport was approved on the first ballot for one of the at-large seats. After four ballots, Kao Ly Her and Sandy Weise were tied for votes, and neither received the required majority of votes in both the House and Senate. As a result, both names are recommended for consideration for the full House and Senate. No date has been set for the joint House and Senate meeting for the final vote.